Our Fears Become Lions

lion fears

Our Fears Become Lions

Lions are intimidating.  Specifically lions that run, and even more so, lions that run in my direction.

But in Africa, they say you’re not a true hunter unless you hunt something that hunts you.

Tommy told me a story a few days ago about a guy having recurring dreams about a lion.  It was more like a nightmare than a dream actually.  Every night he had this dream, a lion was running in his direction.  He would be trying to escape the lion in fear that it would take him down.  Have you ever had a dream where you were being chased by something?  Maybe a better word is hunted.

I am hunted by fear, and it isn’t a dream.  Fear chases me down like a lion.  Every day I make choices on how I am going to live, what I am going to do, where I will go and who I will be.  When faced with these choices I am often ruled by fear.

Fear is filled with negative what ifs’.  What if bad things happen?  What if I make a mistake?  What if people hate me?  What if I fail?  Fear causes me not to act.  Not to move.  Not to change.  Not to live.  Not to dream.  Fear compares me and asks if I should be someone else.  Every day that I make choices, I face the possibility of being taken down in the chase.

In this recurring lion dream we were talking about, this guy decided he was exhausted of being chased.  He decided if the dream happened again, he was going to change his tactics.  He fell asleep and began to dream of the lion so he started to run as usual, but then the guy stopped. He turned around, and he faced the lion.  The lion ceased the chase, looked the man in the eye and spoke.

The lion said, ‘I am your courage.  Why are you running from me?’

 

 

Courage asks what if too.  What if good things happen?  What if this changes the world?  What if this is right?  What if this is better?  Courage sees failure as stepping stones, not roadblocks.  Courage sees adventure.  Courage causes me to move, causes me to try, causes me to live.  Courage says I can do this.

 

Every day I make choices on how I am going to live, what I am going to do, where I will go and who I will be.  Every day that I make choices, I face the possibility of courage.

Leave a Reply

